top of page
Lilla Torg. A Scandinavian Journey.

Lilla Torg. A Scandinavian Journey.


In 2007, Singapore poets Heng Siok Tian, Toh Hsien Min, Yeow Kai Chai and Yong Shu Hoong took a road trip from Copenhagen to Stockholm, stopping to read at literary events. Out of this two-week wander was born this exquisite-corpse project, where one poet’s ending line became another's opening line, ensuring structure and continuity to hold in place the distinctiveness of each of the four poets' styles.


Named after the cobblestone square built in central Malmö in 1592, Lilla Torg (or “Little Square” in Swedish) is finally published in the original sequence in which the poems are to be savoured – a unique collaborative collection shaped by the force of engagement between the poets and the external, Nordic influences.

SKU: 978-981-18-4412-6
  • Book Specifications

    Title: Lilla Torg. A Scandinavian Journey


    Authors:  Heng Siok Tian | Toh Hsien Min | Yeow Kai Chai | Yong Shu Hoong

    Book Size: 190mm x 195mm (portrait)

    Pages: 88

    Price: $ 18 (before GST)

    Year: 2023

    Publisher: Dakota Books

  • About the Authors

    Heng Siok Tian has published six collections of poetry: Crossing the Chopsticks and Other Poems (1993), My City, My Canvas (1999), Contouring (2004), Is my body a myth (2011), Mixing Tongues (2011) and Grandma’s Attic, Mom’s HDB, My Wallpaper (2021). She co-authored The Adopted: Stories from Angkor (2015) and Lost Bodies: Poems Between Portugal and Home (2016).

    Toh Hsien Min has published four books of poetry, including Means To An End (2008) and the bilingual Dans quel sens tombent les feuilles (2016). He is the founding editor of the Quarterly Literary Review Singapore (

    Yeow Kai Chai is a poet, fiction writer, and editor. He has three poetry collections: Secret Manta (2001); Pretend I’m Not Here (2006); and One to the Dark Tower Comes (2020), which won the Singapore Literature Prize in 2022. A co-editor of QLRS, he was Festival Director of Singapore Writers Festival from 2015 to 2018.

    Yong Shu Hoong has authored seven poetry collections, including Frottage (2005) and The Viewing Party (2013), which both won the Singapore Literature Prize. He is one of the four co-authors of The Adopted: Stories from Angkor (2015) and Lost Bodies: Poems Between Portugal and Home (2016).

bottom of page